General mailing address: 

University of California San Diego
Recipient's Name, Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive #0319
La Jolla, CA 92093

Office Telephone: (858) 246-3440
Campus Mail Code: 0319

Chair, Oleg Shpyrko | Phone: (858) 534-6857

Vice Chair of Undergraduate Education, Andrew Meyertholen

Vice Chair of Graduate Education, Rick Averitt

Chief Administrative Officer (MSO), Bret Noël | Phone: (858) 534-0340

Asst. CAO & Business Office Manager, Jasmyn Wuerthwein | Phone: (858) 822-0434

For academic matters in the Graduate Program please feel free to contact the following individuals:

Graduate Coordinator, Sharmila Poddar | Phone: (858) 822-1074

Graduate Admissions Coordinator, Jennifer Yang | Phone: (858) 534-3293

Student Affairs Manager, Catherine McConney | Phone: (858) 534-5982

Vice Chair for Graduate Education, Rick Averitt


For academic matters in the Undergraduate Program please seek advising from the Undergraduate Affairs Team:

UCSD and UCEAP Students use the "Ask a Question" feature in the Virtual Advising Center (VAC). If the VAC is closed you will need to wait to submit your question until it reopens.

Non-UCSD Students email

For communication & press inquiries in Physics please contact:

Chief Administrative Officer (MSO), Bret Noël | Phone: (858) 534-0340

School of Physical Sciences Director of Communications, Michelle Franklin

Please direct all academic personnel and human resources inquiries to

Find out about Employee Wellness Resources

For a comprehensive contact list of administrative staff, inclusive of Administrative Support and Research Admin assignments, Hybrid Work Schedules, Org Chart, and Core Responsibilities, please consult our internal contacts list.