Douglas E. Smith

Department of Physics
University of California, San Diego                
Natural Science Building, Mail Code 0379
9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA 92093

Research Papers:  Click here for Google Scholar Listing

Research topics:
  Viral DNA packaging in bacteriophages phi29, lambda, and T4
  Function of ATP-dependent molecular motors
  Single polymer dynamics (polymer physics, DNA properties, microrheology)
  Chromatin assembly and structure
  Protein mediated DNA looping
  Restriction endonuclease function
  Physics of knot formation

  Manipulation of single DNA molecules with Optical Tweezers
  Single DNA molecule imaging by fluorescence microscopy
  Molecular Biology and Biochemistry


  NSF (Physics of Living Systems), Award #0848905 (PI)

NSF (Molecular and Cellular Biosciences), Award #1158328 (PI)

  NIH (National Institute of General Medical Science), Award #R01 GM088186 (PI)


  Sloan Foundation Fellow, 2003
  Beckman Young Investigator Award, 2003
  Searle Scholars Award, 2002
  Burroughs Wellcome Fund Career Award in Biomedical Science, 2001
  Research Corporation Research Innovation Award, 2001
  Graduate Fellowship, NSF Program in Mathematics and Molecular Biology, 1996
  Sigma Xi Science Prize, 1993
  Elected to Phi Beta Kappa, 1993

Ph.D., Stanford University, 1999
    Thesis research: Manipulation and imaging of single DNA molecules, Single polymer dynamics
    Advisor: Prof. Steven Chu

B.A. in Physics, University of Chicago, 1993

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Berkeley, 1999-2001
    Research: Single-molecule studies of viral DNA packaging
    Advisor: Prof. Carlos Bustamante

Recent collaborators:

Prof. Michael Feiss, Dept. of Microbiology and Genetics, University of Iowa
  Profs. Shelley Grimes, Paul Jardine, and Dwight Anderson, Dept. of Diagnostic & Biological Sci., Univ. of Minnesota 
  Prof. Carlos Catalano, Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Washington

  Prof. Venigalla Rao, Department of Biology, Catholic University of America
  Prof. James Kadonaga, Division of Biology, University of California, San Diego
  Prof. Gaurav Arya, Dept. of Nanoengineering, University of California, San Diego

updated 6/2014