Giving to Physics: Physics Chair's Challenge Begins Now! Make an impact on our students...

UC San Diego Physics Graduate Program

Learn More!

Department of Physics Faculty At A Glance

Dr. Henry Abarbanel

Dr. Michael Anderson

Dr. Daniel Arovas

Dr. Richard Averitt

Dr. Julio Barreiro

Dr. Dimitri Basov

Dr. James Branson

Dr. Adam Burgasser

Dr. Leonid Butov

Dr. Alison Coil

Dr. Eva-Maria S. Collins

Dr. Max (Massimiliano) Di Ventra

Dr. Patrick Diamond

Dr. Fred Driscoll

Dr. Daniel Dubin

Dr. Olga Dudko

Dr. Michael Fogler

Dr. George Fuller

Dr. Kim Griest

Dr. Benjamin Grinstein

Dr. Alexander Groisman

Dr. Jorge Hirsch

Dr. Michael Holst

Dr. Terence Hwa

Dr. Kenneth Intriligator

Dr. Elizabeth Jenkins

Dr. Suckjoon Jun

Dr. Brian Keating

Dr. Dusan Keres

Dr. David Kleinfeld

Dr. Quinn Konopacky

Dr. Julius Kuti

Dr. Aneesh Manohar

Dr. M. Maple

Dr. John McGreevy

Dr. Thomas Murphy

Dr. Kaixuan Ni

Dr. Michael Norman

Dr. Thomas O'Neil

Dr. Hans Paar

Dr. Jeremie Palacci

Dr. Karin Sandstrom

Dr. Ivan Schuller

Dr. Vivek Sharma

Dr. Oleg Shpyrko

Dr. Sunil Sinha

Dr. Douglas Smith

Dr. Clifford Surko

Dr. David Tytler

Dr. Massimo Vergassola

Dr. Shelley Wright

Dr. Congjun Wu

Dr. Frank Wuerthwein

Dr. Avi (Avraham) Yagil

Science in the News

UCSD Physics Awards

Yaojun Zhang receives 2016 Chancellor's Dissertation Award

The UCSD Graduate Student Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Chancellor's Dissertation Awards. The Chancellor rewards the student in each division... Read More

Nirag Kadakia receives Department of Physics Graduate Teaching Award
Nirag Kadakia has received the Department of Physics Graduate Teaching Award, accompanied by a $500 prize. The award is for outstanding and broad contributions to educat... Read More

Graduate student Haik Manukian awarded (SMART) scholarship from the Department of Defense
Graduate student Haik Manukian has been awarded a Science, Mathematics, And Research for Transformation (SMART) scholarship from the Department of Defense to complete his... Read More

Physics Ph.D Student David Vidmar receives GSA Interdisciplinary Research Award
The Graduate Student Association Interdisciplinary Research Awards honors the outstanding work of the people who turn the gears of research here at UC San Diego - the gr... Read More

Previous Awards

UCSD Physics News

Click here to download the most recent Department of Physics' newsletter.

New $40 Million Observatory to Probe First Moments of Universe

Physicists understand fairly well what happened after the Big Bang and the laws of physics that govern the universe. It's what the universe looked like immediately after ...Read More

Astronomers Discover Three Potentially Habitable Earth-Sized Worlds Around A Dim Star 40 Light-years Away
An international team of astronomers, including UC San Diego's Professor Adam Burgasser and graduate student Daniella Bardalez Gagliuffi, has reported in Nature the disco...Read More

Yusuke Kosuga (PhD 2012) wins Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan
Congratulations to Yusuke Kosuga (PhD 2012) for winning the 10th Young Scientist Award of the Physical Society of Japan (Division 2,Plasma Physics).Kosuga,who is curren...Read More

Adam Burgasser: 2015/16 Distinguished Teaching Award for Academic Senate Members
Prof. Adam Burgasser has been selected by the Committee on Senate Awards as a recipient of the 2015/16 Distinguished Teaching Award for Academic Senate Members.

Th...Read More

Previous News

UCSD Physics Colloquium

No scheduled events this week.

UCSD Physics Seminars

No scheduled events this week.

View all seminars